Troop 736
About Troop 736
Troop Calendar
Troop News
Troop Leadership
Troop Resources
Troop Camping
Troop PLC
Troop Gallery
Contact Us


Troop 736 History

In the fall of 1995 the first group of boys from Pack 736 began their second year of Webelos. Cubmaster, Terry Loucks and several other leaders, including Brad Smith, determined it was time to start a Troop. Mike Kennedy, former Cubmaster and Webelos leader from Pack 706 had been working with Pack 736 as Unit Commissioner and decided to bring his Webelos den in to the new Troop. In the early spring of 1996, the Webelos dens from both Packs camped together at the Bentley Water Works. From that campout, the Troop begin to grow. Cubmaster, Joe Sack, and Committee Chairman, Steve Mankins, from Pack 404, heard about the new troop and decided to bring their Webelos into the Troop. In the Spring of 1996, the new Troop was chartered with Terry Loucks as Scoutmaster, and Steve Mankins as Committee Chairman. Mike Kennedy, Brad Smith, John Bell, and Joe Sack were Assistant Scoutmasters. Steve Charles was the Treasurer, and Dave Punch was the Chartered Organization Representative. With that adult leadership and 36 brand new Arrow of Light Scouts, the Troop was formed.

From the beginning, the strength of the Troop was in its adult leadership and their commitment to providing a quality program for the boys. The weakness of the Troop was having 36 new Scouts and no older boys to provide the natural leadership roles that were found in established Troops. This required the adult leaders to take a more “hands-on role” as they developed the young boys into leaders. The leadership skills of Chris Loucks, Troy Mankins, and Kevin Punch were developed, and they become some of the first youth leaders.

After five years as Scoutmaster, Terry Loucks decided it was time to retire, and Alan Conine took over. Alan became Scoutmaster in 2001 and served until 2004 when Jim Pogue became Scoutmaster. In 2010, Tom Mead took the torch to carry on as Scoutmaster. 2012 brought our first female Scoutmaster to Troop 736, Diana Reddout. In 2013, Doug Warren stepped up to be our new leader.

Troop 736 Scoutmasters
Terry Loucks
Alan Conine
Jim Pogue
Tom Mead
Diana Reddout   2012-2013
Doug Waren   2013-Present


Scout On Home


Hosting provided by: